About KimberlyBook Kimberly
Kimberly in the Press
Mocha Manual Media & Consulting
Advertise With Us

Make The First Five Count: Learn The 5 Milestones Every Child Should Reach By 5-Years-Old


By Kimberly Seals Allers, Founder & Editor in Chief, MochaManual.com

We all know that the first years of life really matter. Yet moms are busy, juggling many hats and things can slip through the cracks. And I won’t even mention the denial factor. But the truth is, every year 1.45 million children, all under the age of five, enter school with learning and health issues that put them far behind their peers and have a lasting, negative effect on their ability to meet their full potential. Make the First Five Count encourages parents to be more aware of the social and developmental milestones that children should be reaching during the first five years of life.

This is particularly important to black families because a recent study by a Florida State University researcher has found that African-American children tend to be diagnosed with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) later than white children, which results in a longer and more intensive intervention. In addition, the stigma attached to mental health conditions in our community contributes to misdiagnoses of autism, and underuse of available treatment services–which are most effective when started early. So learn the 5 important areas of development and the key milestones now to give your child the best life possible.

Some of these developmental milestones include:

Area 1:Cognitive:Thinking skills: including learning, understanding, problem solving, reasoning, and remembering.

  • Your child should respond to his name when called by age 1.
  • Identify hair, eyes, nose and mouth by pointing to them by age 2.
  • Understand simple stories told or read by age 3.
  • Give reasonable answers to simple questions such as, “What do you do when you are sleepy?” or “What do you do when you are hungry?” by age 4.
  • Understand the meaning of the words “today,” “tomorrow” and “yesterday” by age 5.

Area 2: Sensory: Interaction with the environment; reaction to and recognition of sights, sounds, textures and smells.

  • Your child should respond to music with body motion by age 1
  • Explore surroundings by age 2
  •  Recognize sounds in the environment byage 3
  • Recognize red, yellow and blue by age 4
  • Know spatial relations (like “on top” and “far”) by age 5

Area 3 is Language, Area 4 includes Social/Emotional milestones and Area 5 covers Movement.

Learn the 5 by 5 now. http://www.westglen.com/online/5by5guide.pdf

Recognizing a problem in developmental milestones is the very first step to ensuring a child gets the services he or she needs early – at the time they can benefit the most. When kids get the right treatment and therapy
early in life, they’re ready to learn alongside their peers and build lifelong skills.




Leave A Comment